EDTECH ACADEMY WORKSHOP

EVENT OUTLINE

Register to attend the workshop: 

REGISTER NOW
Soundhouse EdTech Academy Workshop

October 3, 2020 

9 am PT | 10 am MT | 11 am CT |12 pm ET

*The times below are listed in Eastern Time. 


WELCOME (12:00 - 12:20 pm)
· How the Soundhouse pivoted to an online program - what we learned and what works
· Our method for an online program can work for any ensemble
· The many benefits of online instruction 

SETUP (12:20 - 12:50 pm)
· Selecting and working with an online web conference platform 
· Recording software (DAW options)
· Equipment resources for directors
· Equipment resources for students
· Possible funding solutions

DISTRIBUTION OF MUSIC AND COMMUNICATIONS (1:00 - 1:20 pm)
· Selecting a Learning Management System (LMS)
· Preparing your music and legally distributing it to your students 
· Best practices for instructions, expectations, and detailed instructions 


REHEARSAL (1:20 - 2:00 pm)
· How to use your video conferencing software
· Setting up your rehearsal files
· Importing a reference track and lining it up with the click
· What to do if you don't have a reference track 
· How to create a reference track with unstable tempo recording  
· Suggested rehearsal structure

· Live demonstration of an ensemble with a director


SECTIONALS AND CHAMBER ENSEMBLES (2:00 - 2:50 pm)
· Works well for any type and size of ensemble 
· Demonstrate the collaboration
· Peer-teaching built in
· Self-evaluation built in  
· Live demonstration of student-run sectional


DIRECTOR FEEDBACK (3:00 - 3:20 pm)
· Record feedback in the DAW or in the LMS
· Best practices for feedback (individual feedback, sectional feedback, and ensemble feedback)


PREPARING YOUR FINAL PERFORMANCE (3:20 - 3:50 pm)
· Set realistic pacing and expectations
· Understanding expectations: the difference between live and recorded performance expectations
· Instructions to students to capture best recordings (how and where to upload student videos)
· Exporting the audio and getting it mixed and mastered

 
HOW TO EDIT THE FINAL PRODUCT (4:00 - 4:30 pm)
· Audio editing, mixing, and mastering 
· Video editing, mixing, and mastering
· Hosting and sharing final product 

~ SWITCH TO ZOOM MEETING: https://zoom.us/j/92143946685 ~


PROGRAMMING CULTURALLY RESPONSIVE PRACTICE (4:30 - 5:00 pm)
· Culturally Responsive Practice (Allyssa Jones)

 
BREAKOUT ROOMS - DIRECTOR SHARING (5:00 - 5:45 pm)
· What's working in current teaching environments

· Vocal/Choral Online Instruction Tips (Tim Sharp, facilitator) 
 
· Orchestra Pedagogy Online Instruction Tips (Bob Phillips, facilitator)

· Concert Band and Jazz Band Pedagogy Online Instruction Tips (Peter Boonshaft and Gordon Goodwin, facilitators)
· How to start a beginner ensemble online

 

RECAP AND NEXT STEPS (5:45 - 6:00 pm)

Interested in attending the workshop? 

REGISTER NOW